FF Leader Congratulates Colleagues Elected in Strong Seanad Election

Published on: 03 April 2020

Fianna Fáil Leader Micheál Martin TD has congratulated his 16 colleagues elected to Seanad Éireann in what he welcomed as a very strong performance for the party.

Deputy Martin commented, “This has been a very positive Seanad election for the party. Returning a competent and articulate team and increasing our number of senators by three, the result strengthens our Parliamentary Party and will ensure that Fianna Fáil takes a lead role in both Houses of the Oireachtas.

“This will be particularly important in the months and years ahead as the country and our politics comes to terms with the impact caused by the COVID-19 virus and as we all work to rebuild the country.

“I would like to thank our Director of Elections for this campaign, Deputy Robert Troy. Robert did an excellent job and was tireless in his efforts across the country over the last month.

“While this was a very strong performance, I am also conscious of colleagues who were not successful and have given tremendous service to the country and the party over many years. I know that they will continue to provide leadership in their communities and continue to help develop the Fianna Fáil party across the country.”

The FF Senators elected to the 26th Seanad are: Malcolm Byrne, Lisa Chambers, Denis O’Donovan, Paul Daly, Niall Blaney, Eugene Murphy, Robbie Gallagher, Ned O’Sullivan, Shane Cassells, Pat Casey, Aidan Davitt, Ollie Crowe, Catherine Ardagh, Mark Daly, Diarmuid Wilson and Fiona O’Loughlin.

Connect with us

News Categories