The 2nd meeting of the EU-Iceland Joint Parliamentary Committee was held in Reykjavik and Hellisheiði Geothermal Plant today.

The meeting was co-chaired by Pat the Cope Gallagher (European Parliament, ALDE group, Ireland) and Árni Thor Sigurdsson (Iceland, Left-Green Movement).

In its first session, the JPC debated the relations between the European Union and Iceland, in particular the ongoing accession process, with the invited speakers:


  • Mr Bálint Ódor, Deputy State Secretary for EU affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Hungary, on behalf of the Council of the European Union;
  • H.E. Mr Timo Summa, Head of EU Delegation in Iceland, on behalf of the European Commission;
  • H.E. Mr Stefán Haukur Jóhannesson, Secretary of State for EU Negotiations, on behalf of the Icelandic Government.


In addition the following topics were debated:

  • Fisheries
  • Overview of the EU and Icelandic agriculture policies
  • The Financial Crisis: Responses in EU and Iceland


In the second session, a seminar on renewable energy in the EU and Iceland was held on the site of the Hellisheiði Geothermal Plant, with presentations by various experts.

The 3rd JPC meeting is scheduled to take place in week 40 in Brussels, European Parliament.



Members of the European Parliament

Mr Pat the Cope Gallagher, Chairperson                                 ALDE, Ireland

Mr Paul Rübig                                                                         EPP, Austria

Mr Indrek Tarand                                                                   Greens/EFA, Estonia

Mr Søren Bo Søndergaard                                                      GUE/NGL, Denmark

Mr Cristian Dan Preda                                                            EPP, Romania

(Rapporteur of the Foreign Affairs Committee)                           


Members of the Althingi

Mr Árni Þór Sigurðsson, chairperson                                      Left-Green Movement

Ms Valgerður Bjarnadóttir, vice-chairperson                          Socialdemocratic Alliance

Ms Jónína Rós Guðmundsdóttir                                             Socialdemocratic Alliance

Mr Björgvin G. Sigurðsson                                                     Socialdemocratic Alliance

Ms Birgitta Jónsdóttir                                                             Movement

Ms Guðfríður Lilja Grétarsdóttir                                            Left-Green Movement

Ms Ólöf Nordal                                                                      Independence Party

Mr Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson                                                  Independence Party