Senator Darragh O’Brien has said he is “extremely shocked and disappointed by a decision by Councillors on Fingal County Council to block the legitimate campaign efforts of the Reclaim Fingal Alliance on the proposed construction of a monster sewerage plant in North Dublin.”

Following a County Council meeting on 14th May, three “preferred sites” have been selected. They are:

  • Newtowncorduff – 2.2KM west of Lusk  – Marine outfall in the vicinity of Loughshinny
  • Annsbrook,–  east of Ballyboughal , west of Lusk Marine outfall Loughshinny
  • Cloghran & Clonshaugh – 2 .2KM from Dublin Airport, 3.3 KM south of Swords – Marine outfall between Malahide and Portmarnock

Senator O’Brien said: “Should any of the above plants proceed, it will directly impact on thousands of people in the North County Dublin Area. I, County Councillors, Eoghan O’Brien and Darragh Butler, our Local Area Representative, Brian Dennehy, are, as we have been since 2006, opposed to Monster Regional Treatment Plants.

“This proposed plant, should it get the go-ahead from Government will process 1,000 Litres of sewerage per second.  This plant will cost over €2.7 Billion to build. In our view this is a dangerous, ill-thought out proposal. It will negatively impact on our environment and our quality of life.

“The Reclaim Fingal Alliance made up of concerned residents in Fingal have campaigned strongly against these proposals and assisted in organising over 10,000 submissions in opposition to this plant. The Council and the Department have so far ignored the concerns of the people of north Dublin.

“Worse than this on 14th May 2012, 12 Fingal County Councillors voted against a simple request, tabled by Cllr. Eoghan O’Brien, with the full permission of Reclaim Fingal Alliance, to allow concerned residents to be heard in a Council meeting. This is my / our view is a disgraceful decision and a slap in the face to the thousands of people in North Dublin who rightly do not want this plant located in our area. It confirms that these Councillors do not support the people who elected them.  This is totally unacceptable.”

“I, along with Brian, Eoghan and Darragh Butler will continue to work on behalf of residents to ensure that this proposal is defeated.  I am also urging people to access the detail on and I am urging them to make their views on these proposals known to the Minister of the Environment Phil Hogan T.D., e-mail and to make submissions to the project team, Submissions need to be made before 6th July 2012.”


Below is a copy of the motion tabled at the full Council Meeting and the list of those who have supported this legitimate request and those who voted against.


“That the Members invite a delegation from the Reclaim Fingal Alliance group to address the next County Council Meeting regarding their views on the proposed regional sewerage plant.”

For : (10)  Eoghan O’Brien (FF), Ken Farrell (Lab), May McKeown (NP), Mags Murray (FF), David McGuinness (FF) Tom O’Leary (FG), Ciaran Byrne (Lab), Matthew Waine (SP), Ruth Coppinger (SP), Eugene Coppinger (SP)

Against : (12) Peter Coyle (Lab),  David O’Connor (NP), Anthony Lavin (FG), Joan Maher (FG), Anne Devitt (FG), Eithne Loftus (FG),  Kieran Dennison (FG), Tom Kelleher (LAB), Gerry Maguire (LAB), Peggy Hammill (LAB), Michael O’Donovan (LAB), Mary McCamley (LAB)